Monday, January 06, 2020

To Absent Crichtons and Hybrid Warships

The final episode of Farscape's third season introduces a new main character, a major plot development, and drastically changes the direction of the show but mostly it feels like denouement. After the events of the previous episode, Moya seeks to deliver Talyn's remains to a Leviathan burial ground of sorts. Meanwhile, most of the characters feel it's time to go their separate ways and head to their separate homes.

Season Three, Episode 22: A Dog with Two Bones

I'm not really sure why everyone seems to feel this way. If anything, I'd think they were in more danger from the Peacekeepers after destroying the Command Carrier. But it makes for some bittersweet farewells during which no-one seems to care much that a total stranger is in the mess hall.

Noranti (Melissa Jaffer) cooks and dispenses wisdom for a barely receptive Crichton (Ben Browder). How differently this would've unfolded on Star Trek. But Crichton's too busy having visions of an alternate timeline where he and Aeryn (Claudia Black) marry on Earth, he has no time to interrogate the interloper.

Maybe this alternate tale is something like what would've happened if the other Crichton had lived. As it is, Aeryn, understandably, finds things too weird with the remaining Crichton and she takes off in her new Prowler, despite the episode's bombshell; Aeryn is pregnant. Presumably with the other Crichton's child. In a series about new and ambiguous family relationships, this may be the newest and most ambiguous yet.

It's an idea that certainly made for a great story across the length of season three and sets the stage for an even wilder season four . . .

. . .

Farscape is available now on Amazon Prime.

This entry is part of a series I'm writing on Farscape for the show's 20th anniversary. My previous reviews can be found here (episodes are in the order intended by the show's creators rather than the broadcast order):

Season One:

Episode 1: Pilot
Episode 2: I, E.T.
Episode 3: Exodus from Genesis
Episode 4: Throne for a Loss
Episode 5: Back and Back and Back to the Future
Episode 6: Thank God It's Friday Again
Episode 7: PK Tech Girl
Episode 8: That Old Black Magic
Episode 9: DNA Mad Scientist
Episode 10: They've Got a Secret
Episode 11: Till the Blood Runs Clear
Episode 12: Rhapsody in Blue
Episode 13: The Flax
Episode 14: Jeremiah Crichton
Episode 15: Durka Returns
Episode 16: A Human Reaction
Episode 17: Through the Looking Glass
Episode 18: A Bug's Life
Episode 19: Nerve
Episode 20: The Hidden Memory
Episode 21: Bone to be Wild
Episode 22: Family Ties

Season Two:

Episode 1: Mind the Baby
Episode 2: Vitas Mortis
Episode 3: Taking the Stone
Episode 4: Crackers Don't Matter
Episode 5: Picture If You Will
Episode 6: The Way We Weren't
Episode 7: Home on the Remains
Episode 8: Dream a Little Dream
Episode 9: Out of Their Minds
Episode 10: My Three Crichtons
Episode 11: Look at the Princess, Part I: A Kiss is But a Kiss
Episode 12: Look at the Princess, Part II: I Do, I Think
Episode 13: Look at the Princess, Part III: The Maltese Crichton
Episode 14: Beware of Dog
Episode 15: Won't Get Fooled Again
Episode 16: The Locket
Episode 17: The Ugly Truth
Episode 18: A Clockwork Nebari
Episode 19: Liars, Guns, and Money, Part I: A Not So Simple Plan
Episode 20: Liars, Guns, and Money, Part II: With Friends Like These . . .
Episode 21: Liars, Guns, and Money, Part III: Plan B
Episode 22: Die Me, Dichotomy

Season Three:

Episode 1: Season of Death
Episode 2: Suns and Lovers
Episode 3: Self-Inflicted Wounds, Part I: Would'a, Could'a, Should'a
Episode 4: Self-Inflicted Wounds, Part II: Wait for the Wheel
Episode 5: . . . Different Destinations
Episode 6: Eat Me
Episode 7: Thanks for Sharing
Episode 8: Green Eyed Monster
Episode 9: Losing Time
Episode 10: Relativity
Episode 11: Incubator
Episode 12: Meltdown
Episode 13: Scratch 'n Sniff
Episode 14: Infinite Possibilities, Part I: Daedalus Demands
Episode 15: Infinite Possibilities, Part II: Icarus Abides
Episode 16: Revenging Angel
Episode 17: The Choice
Episode 18: Fractures
Episode 19: I-Yensch, You-Yensch
Episode 20: Into the Lion's Den, Part I: Lambs to the Slaughter
Episode 21: Into the Lion's Den, Part II: Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

No comments:

Post a Comment