Tuesday, December 24, 2019

There's No Christmas Present Like a Wormhole Weapon

While boarding Scorpius' Command Carrier may seem like a hard job for our heroes on Farscape, at least the goals are easy to keep sight of. Right?

Season Three, Episode Twenty: Into the Lion's Den, Part I: Lambs to the Slaughter

The deal, hammered out in the previous episode between Rygel (Jonathan Hardy) and Scorpius (Wayne Pygram), is for Crichton (Ben Browder) to come aboard and help Scorpius develop the wormhole weapon so that the Scarrans don't have a chance to take over the galaxy. But secretly, Crichton plans to sabotage the whole project. But season three's effort to make the Peacekeepers more morally complicated comes to a culmination here as Crichton starts to wonder if it's not such a bad idea helping Scorpius after all.

He gets caught up on Scorpius' backstory so he knows just how vicious the Scarrans can be. He sees the infighting between Peacekeepers--the lower level officers chaff under Scorpius' orders to play nice with Moya's crew, none of them apparently seeing the big picture. Aeryn (Claudia Black) and Crais (Lani Tupu) run into old comrades who remind them this used to be home and that it was certainly never all bad. Finally, we're introduced to Scorpius' rival, Grayza (Rebecca Riggs), who wants to try to negotiate peace with the Scarrans.

Cool, calculating, with the amount of cleavage that somehow communicates an impression of ruthlessness, the mysteriously purple eyed lady is another thing making Crichton's moral quandary more difficult.

This is the beginning of the political plot that will shape most of the fourth season and it's a nice transition, turning the personal experiences of Moya's crew into something that fits into a grand scale.

. . .

Farscape is available now on Amazon Prime.

This entry is part of a series I'm writing on Farscape for the show's 20th anniversary. My previous reviews can be found here (episodes are in the order intended by the show's creators rather than the broadcast order):

Season One:

Episode 1: Pilot
Episode 2: I, E.T.
Episode 3: Exodus from Genesis
Episode 4: Throne for a Loss
Episode 5: Back and Back and Back to the Future
Episode 6: Thank God It's Friday Again
Episode 7: PK Tech Girl
Episode 8: That Old Black Magic
Episode 9: DNA Mad Scientist
Episode 10: They've Got a Secret
Episode 11: Till the Blood Runs Clear
Episode 12: Rhapsody in Blue
Episode 13: The Flax
Episode 14: Jeremiah Crichton
Episode 15: Durka Returns
Episode 16: A Human Reaction
Episode 17: Through the Looking Glass
Episode 18: A Bug's Life
Episode 19: Nerve
Episode 20: The Hidden Memory
Episode 21: Bone to be Wild
Episode 22: Family Ties

Season Two:

Episode 1: Mind the Baby
Episode 2: Vitas Mortis
Episode 3: Taking the Stone
Episode 4: Crackers Don't Matter
Episode 5: Picture If You Will
Episode 6: The Way We Weren't
Episode 7: Home on the Remains
Episode 8: Dream a Little Dream
Episode 9: Out of Their Minds
Episode 10: My Three Crichtons
Episode 11: Look at the Princess, Part I: A Kiss is But a Kiss
Episode 12: Look at the Princess, Part II: I Do, I Think
Episode 13: Look at the Princess, Part III: The Maltese Crichton
Episode 14: Beware of Dog
Episode 15: Won't Get Fooled Again
Episode 16: The Locket
Episode 17: The Ugly Truth
Episode 18: A Clockwork Nebari
Episode 19: Liars, Guns, and Money, Part I: A Not So Simple Plan
Episode 20: Liars, Guns, and Money, Part II: With Friends Like These . . .
Episode 21: Liars, Guns, and Money, Part III: Plan B
Episode 22: Die Me, Dichotomy

Season Three:

Episode 1: Season of Death
Episode 2: Suns and Lovers
Episode 3: Self-Inflicted Wounds, Part I: Would'a, Could'a, Should'a
Episode 4: Self-Inflicted Wounds, Part II: Wait for the Wheel
Episode 5: . . . Different Destinations
Episode 6: Eat Me
Episode 7: Thanks for Sharing
Episode 8: Green Eyed Monster
Episode 9: Losing Time
Episode 10: Relativity
Episode 11: Incubator
Episode 12: Meltdown
Episode 13: Scratch 'n Sniff
Episode 14: Infinite Possibilities, Part I: Daedalus Demands
Episode 15: Infinite Possibilities, Part II: Icarus Abides
Episode 16: Revenging Angel
Episode 17: The Choice
Episode 18: Fractures
Episode 19: I-Yensch, You-Yensch

No comments:

Post a Comment